Groups and groupings - Group self-selection

Overview  |  Types of groups and groupings  |  Groups  |  Groupings  ||  Support

groups iconThis entry relates to Groups and groupings.

icon for the group selection toolThe Group self-selection tool allows students to enrol themselves into groups. Use of the tool can give students a sense of control over their learning, and can be more convenient for staff than manually controlling which students are added to which groups.

Group self-selection could be used so that students can assign themselves to a group based on:

  • a time/day that suits them to do lab/field work 
  • a subject/activity that interests them for a group assignment – this might work particularly well for project or inquiry-based learning


Steps

Note: The steps below assume empty groups have already been created and groups have been added to a grouping.     
  1. Access your topic page. Make sure that editing is turned on. Click the  turn editing onbutton if required.

  2. In the week/module where you want to add the self-selection tool, click add activity or resource

  3. Select group selection icon

  4. Click the add button

  5. Give the activity a Name and Description(tick the box to display the description). For example, "Sign-up for a group".

  6. By setting the open from - open until dates, the topic coordinator can determine from and until when participants can join or leave a group

  7. Change Select groups from to be the grouping that contains the empty groups. 

  8.  Specify the default min members per group. This option adds notifications for member of groups that  do not satisfy the requirements (e.g. at least 3 students per group). 0 means this option is disabled.

  9. Specify the default max members per group. 0 means there is no limit to the number of students per group.

  10. Specify the default max number of groups to participate in. 1 means that the students can only enrol in one group.
    general

  11. Under General permissions, a Topic Coordinator can assign several permissions to participants (i.e. students); these include being able to join, leave (until the 'Open until' date is reached) and create groups. If participants are permitted to create groups, further permissions can be set; these include setting the name of new groups, setting and editing group description and setting passwords for joining groups.

  12. permissions

    misc


  13. Click the save and display button 


    Notice regarding suspended users: If a student who has selected a group becomes suspended (eg withdraws or has overdue fees), they will be removed from the group count and  their position in the group will become available to other students.. If a suspended user is re-activated (e.g. when they have paid outstanding fees), they will be automatically re-activated to the group they chose. In this circumstance, it is possible that the group may have more than the maximum number of members.. 
  14. After the Group self-selection activity has been created, overriding the max members per group can be achieved through the Limits tab. 
limits tab

    » How-to glossary