Assignment - add a group or user alternative due date (override)

1. Plan  |   2. Build   |  3. Test   |  4. Administer  |  5. Review  ||  Support

assignment dropbox iconThis entry relates to the Assignment activity.

Overrides are used to create multiple due dates for different students (eg different due dates for different tutorial groups, or individual due dates for each student), or to facilitate a resubmission. Overrides are not an alternative to granting an extension using the Assignment extension request tool or the Assignment grading screen.

If you want to create a group override, you may need to also set up groups in your topic

 


Group alternative due date (override)

  1. Open the assignment

  2. Click on the cog in the top right corner of the screen and select Group overrides

  3. Click on the Add group override button

  4. In the next screen, choose a group from the Override group box (required)

  5. Edit the relevant dates for the group you have selected. Allow submissions from, the Due date and/or Cut-off date. You can remove a date by unticking the relevant Enable box.

    select override group

    Timeline block: Group override dates don't currently show to students


  6. Click Save (if you need to enter more overrides, click Save and enter another override)
    The two save buttons and the cancel button


User alternative due date (override)

  1. Open the assignment

  2. Click on the cog in the top right corner of the screen and select User overrides

  3. Click on the Add user override button

  4. In the next screen, select a student from the Override user box

    override user


  5. Edit the relevant dates for the user you have selected: Allow submissions from, the Due date and/or the Cut-off date. You can remove a date by unticking the relevant Enable box.
    Note: if granting a resubmission, make sure the cut off date is after the new due date.

    allow submissions from

    Timeline block: User override dates show to students in the Timeline block, marked as 'override'

  6. Click Save (if you need to enter more overrides, click Save and enter another override)
    The two save buttons and the cancel button

» How-to glossary